Louis Patrick Leroux

History and aesthetics of the circus and the performing arts

Louis Patrick is a professor of dramatic writing and literature in both the English and French studies departments at Concordia University. He holds a doctorate in theatre from Sorbonne nouvelle in Paris and a post-graduate diploma in administration of cultural organizations from HEC Montréal. He also conducts a Montreal working group on circus research.

His interest in the circus extends to writing for the body, dramaturgy and artistic discourse.

With Charles Batson, he co-authored a collective book, Cirque Global: Quebec's Expanding Circus Boundaries (McGill-Queen's University Press, 2016) and directed two scholarly journals on the circus, “Le Québec à Las Vegas” (L’Annuaire théâtral, 2009) and “North-South Circus Circulations” (Quebec Studies, 2014).

His current research focuses on the history and discourses of both the circus and the performing arts in Quebec and on circus creative process and dramaturgy. The latest project, funded by the Fonds de recherche Société et culture du Québec from 2015 to 2018, involves a number of École nationale de cirque students and teachers, and Concordia University students.

As author and director, several of his plays have been staged over the past 25 years. His latest research and creative work elaborated in the university context can be found at http://resonance.hexagram.ca.

In 2016-2017, Louis Patrick taught history and aesthetics of the circus and the performing arts in the professional program at the École nationale de cirque. He is also an active contributor to its Industrial Research Chair in Circus Arts.

Louis Patrick Leroux

Histoire et esthétique du cirque et des arts de la scène

Louis Patrick Leroux est professeur d'écriture dramatique et de littérature dans les départements d'études anglaises et d'études françaises à l'Université Concordia. Il détient un doctorat en théâtre de la Sorbonne nouvelle à Paris et un diplôme de deuxième cycle en administration d'organismes culturels de l'École des HEC-Montréal. Il dirige les activités du Groupe de travail de Montréal sur la recherche en cirque.

Son intérêt pour le cirque passe d’abord par l’écriture du corps, la dramaturgie et le discours artistique.

Il a codirigé, avec Charles Batson, l’ouvrage collectif sur le cirque,Cirque Global : Québec’s Expanding Circus Boundaries(McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2016) et il a dirigé deux dossiers de revues savantes portant sur le cirque « Le Québec à Las Vegas » (L’Annuaire théâtral, 2009) et « North-South Circus Circulations (Québec Studies, 2014).

Ses recherches actuelles portent à la fois sur l’histoire et les discours du cirque et des arts des la scène québécois et sur le processus créateur et la dramaturgie du cirque. Ce dernier projet, subventionné de 2015 à 2018 par le Fonds de recherche Société et culture du Québec, implique de nombreux élèves et enseignants de l’École nationale de cirque et des étudiants de l’Université Concordia.

Auteur et metteur en scène, plusieurs de ses pièces ont été portées à la scène au cours des 25 dernières années. Ses dernières œuvres de recherche-création créées en contexte universitaire peuvent être consultées sur le sitehttp://resonance.hexagram.ca.

En 2016-2017, Louis Patrick Leroux enseigne l’histoire et l’esthétique du cirque et des arts de la scène dans le programme professionnel de l’École nationale de cirque de Montréal. Il est également collaborateur actif à la Chaire industrielle de recherches en arts du cirque.